If Only it Were that Simple....

9:59 p.m.~2005-05-17

Last night I finally got a chance to see I Heart Huckabees. It brought back into a philosophical phase again and I had to review my philosophical profile again. I am not especially strong on either Existentialism or Nihilism. After viewing the movie I would have liked to have been a little more nihilistic, if only because the French woman was sexier than the very dressed-down Dustin Hoffman and Lily Tomlin. Why is it that evil is sexy, or at least portrayed that way?

The French woman's notion that "life is shitty, deal with it" in juxtaposition with Dustin and Lily's supposition that "we are all connected, so have faith" was brought home on my walk to Target later on. As I was walking down Main Street I heard a car beeping their car horn multiple times. I assumed it was a fellow Road Rager and turned around to enjoy the excitement. As it turns out, the woman in the car in front of him had left her take-out meal on top of her car and he was trying to catch her attention before she sped out of the parking lot. As anyone who drives an automobile in a car-dependent city would do, the woman assumed the man was being an asshole and honking his horn for no reason whatsoever. She proceeded to curse him out with both her mouth and hands as she sped up even more down Main Street. The meal flew off of the car and landed surprisingly in-tact in the middle of the road. The man in the car paused for a second and a half behind the food. Then decided (probably throwing in his own expletive for good measure) to drive right over the Styrofoam box and go on his merry way. On my way back, I noticed that the doggy bag could no longer be referred to as a bag in the literal since. Good will had been smashed to shit.


Newest

Older

Profile

Contact

Crushing on Dean (Sigh!) - 2005-06-30
My new love affair with the Right - 2005-05-27
Filibuster Shmilibuster! - 2005-05-25
I Heart Real Life - 2005-05-17
Media Madness - 2005-05-12

When I get a little money I buy books; and if any is left, I buy food and clothes. - Desiderius Erasmus

Currently Reading:Trying to get through Coma by Robin Cook. Not as good as Mutation. Thinking of quiting while I am ahead.

Previous~Next

hosted by DiaryLand.com