If Only it Were that Simple....

10:08 p.m.~2005-05-12

Yesterday I spent the afternoon listening to Seymour Hersh on Democracy Now. I was partially asleep but I got the gist of it. It�s good to see a reporter with some Chutzpah! He basically hit all the targets: the Bush administration; the war in Iraq; the eunuchized media.

On this point I think the media could use a good testosterone injection. Maybe then they will actually grow some balls. I was listening to Air America as usual yesterday. Fortunately Jerry Springer was temporarily replaced by Sam Seder. I�m sorry, I think bringing Springer on was a bad move. He brings nothing! But back to my point. Seder Was discussing a number of things: Mostly the corruption of the right in their cover up of a number of pension account fraud scandals (United Airlines, the State of Ohio) . I tried to learn more on CNN but found nada. I used to tsk tsk Jon Stewart for picking on CNN less than he does Fox News. Now I realize, while Fox News basically knows it�s a joke as far as news goes, CNN should at least make an attempt at maintaining certain standards. Jon, heckle at will.

As for the biased media, I have recently come across a new blog: The Dawn Patrol. She is an unabashedly Catholic Rightist private citizen, though I think she writes for some newspaper. Actually she is more Catholic than rightist, but these days who can tell. I am constantly forced to comment on her material, which she allows (to a point). I would like to think that those that pick on the media for their bias would be inclined to be fair in their representations even if they are biased. Alas, such is not the case for Dawn. She has an unfortunate habit of (sometimes) picking the bits and pieces out of news stories that reinforce the martyrdom of the Followers of the Faith. The times being what they are (sigh!) such stories are far and few between. So sometimes you have to do a little creative editing, such as her story on the BBC supposedly picking on Christians in Mississippi. This is the real story. See what I mean? This is not to pick on her. I enjoy reading her blog, even though I disagree with about 90% of what she has to say on issues. I appreciate her stick-to-itiveness with regards to her point of view. But at least be fair!


Newest

Older

Profile

Contact

Crushing on Dean (Sigh!) - 2005-06-30
My new love affair with the Right - 2005-05-27
Filibuster Shmilibuster! - 2005-05-25
I Heart Real Life - 2005-05-17
Media Madness - 2005-05-12

When I get a little money I buy books; and if any is left, I buy food and clothes. - Desiderius Erasmus

Currently Reading:Reading Coma by Robin Cook. Just finished Mutation and liked it enough to continue in his vein

Previous~Next

hosted by DiaryLand.com